Edison Denisov to Jean-Marie Londeix – February, 1971

Edison Denisov à Jean-Marie Londeix – février 1971

February 71


My dear friend,

I'm profoundly grateful for your friendliness and your concerns - thank you very much.

I received the program from your performance at the conference in the US as well as your letter dated 27 January. I'm very pleased to hear that you will soon record my sonata. I hope I'll get the recording by March / I can assure the ORTF that the tape will not be copied/.

Concerning copies of the score for the US, you can give your friends the address of the Composer's Union (Moscow K-9, Nejdanova Road, 8/10). It is a bit a question of diplomacy.

I received the letter from "Leduc" with the following proposals: "We thought that it would have been logical to estimate, to your benefit, the royalties of the copies sold, but this seems to us too complicated to apply.

"Here is an another solution that we can propose to you. We could agree to provide a contract paying you a fixed sum for the overall exploitation of your work, guaranteeing you 40% of the total sale price on all phonograph recordings in the event that your sonata is recorded commercially. Naturally, by this method you will retain, as the composer, the rights of public performances of your work, which will be available to you by The Society of French Authors (SACEM)."

I don't really understand the meaning of these proposals very well, and I'd appreciate your opinion. I feel that it's too vague - I'm going to write to my good friend Henry [sic] Dutilleux, who's well versed in the intricacies of publishing in France.

Assuring you of my sincere friendship,

E. Denisov

p.s. Here is the list of my works. E.D.

p.s. I own all the tapes, but it's only possible to send them out sporadically. The tapes of the "String Trio" and "Autumn" belong to the ORTF. The material to "Musique romantique" belongs to Mr. Serge Collot (47 Lake of the Plain, 75-Paris XX, tel. 688-06-55). E.D.


Edison Denisov

1) “Music for 11 Wind Instruments and Timpani” (1961) d[uration] = 7'10".
Premiere 15 November 1965 Leningrad (G. Rozhdestvensky); will be published in 1972 by "Peters" (Leipzig)

2) “Concerto for Flute, Oboe, Piano and Percussion” (1963) d - 11'10".
Premiere 24 September 1964 Warsaw (“Musica viva praguensis [sic]”). Published by "Universal Edition", Vienna (1968).

3) “Soleil des Incas” ["The Sun of the Incas"] for soprano and 11 instrumentalists based on works by Gabriela Mistral (1964) d = 18'.
Premiere 30 November 1964 Leningrad (Lidia [sic] Davydova - soprano/ G. Roshdesvensky). Other performances: Darmstadt, Copenhagen, Paris (24/11/65 - "Domaine musical"), Warsaw, Brussels, Buffalo, Brighton, Zagreb, New York, Sverdlovsk, Madrid. Published by "Univeral Edition", Vienna (1971).

4) “Chansons italiennes” ["Italian Songs"] for soprano, flute, violin, horn and harpsichord based on works by Alexandre Blok (1964). d = 19'12".
Premiere 10 May 1966 - Leningrad (L. Davydova/D. Blajkov).

5) “Crescendo and diminuendo” for harpsichord and 12 strings (1965). d = 6'. Recorded by "Columbia" on the LP with L. Bernstein (MS 7052; ML 6452 [Editor’s note: re-released by Sony Classical D29887]).

6) “5 Geschichten vom Herrn Keuner” ["Five Stories by Mr. Keuner"] for tenor and 7 instruments [Eb clarinet, alto saxophone, trumpet, trombone, percussion, piano, contrabass] based on words by Bertohlt Brecht (1966). d = 13'45".
Premiere: 20 February 1968 Berlin (Horst Hiestermann/J. [Joachim] Freyer).

7) “Ode” for clarinet, piano and percussion” (1968). d = [appx.] 7'-8'.
Premiere: 22 January 1968 Moscow (Lev Michailov - clarinet, Boris Berman - piano, Valentin Suegirev - percussion). Recorded by Fratelli Fabbri Editori (Musica Moderna 111; 196/110; 1969).

8) “Three Pieces for Four-Handed Piano” (1967). d = 10'55".
Premiere: 16 February 1968 - London (Susan Bradshaw and Richard Rodney Bennett). Often played by Aloys and Alfons Kontarsky.

9) “Pleurs” ["Lamentations"] for soprano, 3 percussionists and piano after popular Russian texts (1966). d = 29'20".
Premiere: 17 December 1968 - Brussels (Basia Retchitzka/P. Bartholom?e).

10) “Three Piece for Cello and Piano” (1967). d = [appx.] 6'.
Premiere: 11 May 1968. Moscow (Nathalie Goutman/ Boris Berman).

11) “Musique romantique” [“Romantic Music”] for oboe, harp, and string trio (1968). d = 11'.
Premiere:16 May 1969, Zagreb (Heinz and Ursula Holliger and "Trio ?O cordes fran?aise [sic]"). Published by "Universal Edition", VIENNA, 1969.

12) “D-S-C-H” (tribute to Schostakovitsch [sic]) for clarinet, trombone, cello and piano (1969). d = 5'22".
Premiere:20 September 1969 - Warsaw ("Atelier de musique" ensemble).

13) “Wind Quintet” (1969). d = [appx.] = 6-7' (?)
Premiere: Amsterdam, December 1970 ("Danzi-quintet"). Published in 1970 by "Universal Edition", VIENNA.

14) “Chant des oiseaux” ["Birdsong"] for harpsichord (or prepared piano) and tape (1970).
Premiere: 21 December 1970 - Rome (Valery Voskobojnikov). d = 7'22".

15) “Peinture” ["Painting"] for full orchestra (1970). d = [appx.] 14'.
Premiered in October 1970, Graz [Austria] (SY?Ndwestfunk Orchestra with Ernst Bour).

16) “String Trio” (1969). d = 10'.
Premiere 23 October 1969 - Paris ("Trio ?O cordes de Paris").

17) “Automne” (1968) for 13 unaccompanied voices. d = [appx.] 5-6'.
Premiere 30 March 1969 - Royan (Marcel Courand).

“Chansons italiennes”, “5 Geschichten”, “Pleurs” are publicized by “Universal Edition”.

Translation by Jennie Wood and William Street, University of Alberta



Home | Music | Recordings | Letters | Images | Books | Topics | Contact Us
Editorial Board/ L'équipe éditoriale: Paul Bro, Richard Dirlam, Jean-Marie Londeix, William H. Street
Copyright © 2002 SaxAmE. All rights reserved. Webmaster